Friday, October 19, 2018 Medina 50°

Local Medina County News

Friendly dance competition benefits Faith in Action

  • 22554946

    Paul and Roberta Woodard, left, won the Mirror Ball trophy at Dancing with the Medina Stars on Friday night at Weymouth Country Club. Brian and Kristie Ohlin, right, won the People's Choice Award.



MEDINA TWP. — Paul and Roberta Woodard of Wadsworth were crowned champions and brought home the Mirror Ball trophy at the sixth Dancing with the Medina Stars on Friday night.

The Woodards performed West Coast swing/single swing. Cami Ludlow was their dance instructor.

The sold-out event, billed as a display of dancing, humor and talent, was presented by Faith in Action Medina County Caregivers at Weymouth Country Club. Organizers said about 420 people attended.

All proceeds benefit Faith in Action, which provides free transportation to medical appointments, prescription pickups, light housekeeping, errands and therapy dog visits for Medina County elderly and disabled residents.

“It’s a huge event,” event coordinator Donna Theis said. “This is the sixth year for the event. It’s nice every year to get new people. Some people just come to watch the dancing. Ninety percent come to watch family or friends.

“It’s become so popular. It’s our biggest fundraiser.”

The Woodards had a huge crowd there supporting them, she said.

The winners were decided by a combination of judges and people voting at the event.

The People’s Choice Award went to Brian and Kristie Ohlin of Brunswick. Brian Ohlin is Brunswick’s police chief.

The Ohlins performed country swing. Ludlow also was their dance instructor.

The Ohlins raised $1,930 in online votes prior to the event, Theis said.

“They did an amazing job fundraising,” she said.

Ten couples danced, and Thies said they all “did an amazing job. They were so enthusiastic and had great routines.”

The couples raised a combined total of about $9,000 for the People’s Choice Award. Dancers are asked to solicit $10 per vote for the special category.

Other couples who competed for the top prize were:

  • Jeff and Elaine Bertram;
  • Jeff Hill and Michelle Johnson;
  • Mark and Megan Kolesar;
  • Alex and Emily Mellion; 
  • Kent and Stephanie Mowrer;
  • Charles Ramer and Beth Biggins-Ramer;
  • Brandon and Heidi Speers;
  • Paul Stano and Mary Adkins.

The judges were Sean Parker, Cindie Schneider and Nick Solar. The event’s planning committee was comprised of Kathy Herte, Deb Poland, Amy Shupe and Theis.

Contact reporter Bob Finnan at (330) 721-4049 or

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…